I started this blog as a way to document my foray into healthier eating. I struggled for years to lose weight, then stumbled into Primal/Paleo eating. It meant giving up my baking habit and abandoning almost 20 years of vegetarianism. My fear was that it would be miserable, that cooking would well, suck and the food would be boring.

Well, oddly enough I find myself down 35 lbs. And I have never been happier about what I am eating in my life. I don’t miss the junk. A quick explanation- I don’t eat processed foods (never really did), grains, soy and I avoid sugar as best I can. I do eat meats, fruits, vegetables and a small amount of dairy. It’s just plain old good food.

It started out of vanity- I was tired of being fat. But I continue to choose this lifestyle because I feel great and the food is amazing. I do still exercise, my new venture being cross fit, but I work out far less than I used to.

My goal for this blog is to help encourage and support others to give this lifestyle a try by sharing tips, tricks and recipes that work for me. I love to cook. I don’t want to make this into a blog that recreates foods I can’t have, from foods I can. I want it to reflect the variety that primal and paleo foods give us. So, today I have a recipe. It’s one of my favorite meals. Filling and tasty. Yeah, I lost weight eating meals like this. 🙂

Burger in Bowl
Ingredients
2 cups arugula or spinach
Small sweet potato cut into 1/4″ rounds
1 tsp coconut or olive oil
1/3 lb grassfed ground beef
1 egg
Kimchee

Heat oven to 400. Toss sweet potato in oil and lightly salt. Put coins on a baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes. Go do something fun. Pull them out and flip. Bake for 20 more minutes. While they bake for the second 20 minutes, fire up your grill or a pan to cook your burger in. Mine always smoke when pan cooked and while I love the Fire Department showing up, it’s not very fair to them. Cook your burger to taste. I usually grill 4 minute per side.

While the burger grills, put your arugula in a bowl. When your sweet potatoes are done, put them on top of the arugula. Then slide your cooked burger on top. Now for the magic. Take that egg and fry it. Once over easy. Put that on top of the burger. Throw some kimchee on the side.

That’s some good stuff. Rich beef, butty arugula, sweet caramalized sweet potatoes, the rich egg and spicy, tangy kimchee make an amazing combination of food. If you are worried, it comes out to about 585 calories. You could use a smaller beef patty too or even a turkey patty.

