In my quest to try new recipes, I am cooking through Saveurs 100 recipes, picking out the ones that are easy enough to make paleo/primal. Chicken with 40 Cloves of Garlic sounded delish and did not disappointment. The only non-paleo element was the 1/2 cup of vermouth (20% primal), but cooking alcohol probably makes it less damaging. I don’t think you could pull off the recipe without it (or some other form of booze) as it lends flavor and some thickness to the sauce. Who knows, maybe deglaze with a small amount of vinegar and stock?

I buy my chicken at the Farmer’s Market. It is a little expensive, but I buy bone-in chicken leg/thigh quarters. They end up cheaper than regular boneless breasts and have amazing flavor. I noticed a lot of fancier recipes for chicken use bone in chicken and leave the skin on. It really makes for much more flavor and tenderness. I do think boneless chicken is convenient for salads and the like. I like boneless thighs more than breasts.

I served my chicken with green beans. The green beans were sauted in bacon fat and a bit of cider vinegar, salt and butter. I sprinkled them with toasted pecans and some crumbled bacon.

Here is the chicken recipe with my edits:

3 tbsp. olive oil

4 chicken leg thigh combos (cut into 4 legs and 4 thighs) (You could use breasts etc. You just want bone in and skin)

Salt and ground black pepper, to taste

40 cloves garlic, peeled

½ cup dry vermouth

¾ cup Water

1 tbsp. chopped tarragon

INSTRUCTIONS

Heat oven to 350°. Heat oil in a 6-qt. Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Season chicken with salt and pepper; add to pot and cook, turning once, until browned, about 15 minutes. Transfer to an 8″ x 8″ baking dish; set aside. Add garlic to pot; cook until browned in spots, about 6 minutes. Add vermouth; cook, scraping bottom of pot, until slightly reduced, about 2 minutes. Add water; boil. Transfer ¼ of the garlic to baking dish; mash remaining into stock. Pour over chicken; bake until chicken is glazed and tender, 15 to 20 minutes. Garnish with tarragon.

