I had to travel to Asheville North Carolina for work last week. Great place to visit! Needed a quick meal before a long day of meetings, so I enjoyed lunch at Early Girl Eatery. Back in my vegetarian days, Asheville offered many great meal options. As a recent paleo convert I was not so sure I’d be finding something good in the land of tempeh tacos and tofu steaks. I was wrong…. I devoured a bowl of sweetpotato, local sausage, mushrooms, onions and eggs. It was perfection and kept me more than fueled for a long day.

I was inspired over the weekend to have a giant breakfast (don’t be alarmed…. I skipped lunch). I made a similar scramble and it was delicious.

Bacon, egg and sweet potato hash

2 pieces of bacon sliced into 1/2 pieces
one small sweet potato chopped into 1/2″ dice
1/2 cup chopped onions
3 eggs

Heat a pan and toss in the bacon. Let some of the fat render out. Toss in the onion and sweet potato. Saute until it is cooked to your liking on the sweet potato. Beat the eggs until scrambled, then pour into the pan and scramble with the sweet potatos, bacon and onion. Salt and pepper to taste.

So damn good and simple. I had some asparagus on the side.

