Sorry I have been MIA for a while. Been busy Crossfitting and riding and cooking. But I am ready to make it all up to you with a veritable fiesta of pork recipes.

I am blessed to live in the Carolinas for many reasons, but one is pork, glorious pork. Shredded, smoked, chopped, ribs, shanks. We have several sources in the Charlotte area for humanely raised pastured pork. It is delicious, tender, sweet, flavorful and fattier then what you buy at the store. Amazing, and you can tell a difference. The wonderful farmers that are “Grateful Growers” sell “freezer filler” packages that make having a ton of the best pork in your freezer very affordable, plus they let you experience all sorts of new cuts. I ordered a pack that includes: ground pork, pork sausage, BACON, two kinds of pork roasts, pork back bone, pork chops, and pork shanks. I’ve been cooking my way through all this awesome stuff and have yet to have a bad meal.

http://www.ggfarm.com/ is the website. I think they might ship their awesomeness anywhere in case you don’t have a source for local pork.

I’ve started a new diet, won’t go into details, but Sunday night is mine to eat whatever I want. I had the most epic meal of: Greek Salad, Cheese Grits, Boozy Pork Chops and Pumpkin Cheesecake. It was awesome. The salad didn’t quite match, but I love greek salad. A more seasonal side would have been brussel sprouts roasted with bacon. But I wanted some greek salad. Go figure. The pork chops were amazing- juicy and flavorful. I have a gas grill, so my directions reflect that. Please note my chops were marbled with fat, so while I know my technique was good, I also had the privilege of cooking the best pork in town!

So without further adieu:

2 – 1″ thick pork chops

3T salt

1/4 cup Jack Daniels

1 T Coconut Oil melted

Salt to taste

Spice Rub- I use Platte River Rub from http://www.savoryspiceshop.com/  but use what you like.

Process-

Brine: Take 4-5 cups of water and mix with the salt and the Jack Daniels. Submerge the chops in the brine and let them bathe in the booze for 30 minutes to an hour. Remove the chops, pat dry. Brush one side with coconut oil and rub on rub and salt. Flip and repeat the oil, rub and salt process.

Grill: Turn your gas grill up as high as possible on both sides. Let it burn for 10-15 minutes. Cut the gas off on one burner, leaving the other on high. Put the pork chops on the side with the burners on- grill 2 minutes per side. Then flip the chops to the non-burner side and grill 4 minutes per side. Pull off the grill, top with foil and let rest for 5-10 minutes. I spent this time putting a metric ton of cheese into my grits. Then eat.

FYI, There are 3,456 ways to grill pork chops. I think what worked here was the brine and rub. Grill them how you feel comfortable as you have many options.

Also, for a paleo/primal meal, corn grits are not a good side (obviously). The sweetness of this meat calls for a rich side and a side with some acidity. For a rich side, something like a cauliflower mash, sprouts with bacon or a sweet potato prepared with some salted butter or bacon fat would be good. For the acidity, go for a good vinegary cole slaw or a salad with a vinegarette.

 

