Please pardon the lack of blogging lately. I have been busy and sadly, rather uncreative in the kitchen. My new diet gives me a day to “eat whatever” so much of my cooking energy is spent making cheeseburgers and baking non-paleo sweets. The other day, I kind of did a junk food blow out at a holiday party, and felt like crap this morning, thus renewing my commitment to whole foods, with only occasional veering into chocolate bourbon cake, spinach dip, sausage dip and pizza territories. My stomach was rather sad today.

However, I rallied by dinner. I smoked a rump roast in my new smoker grill. It makes lean cuts of meat very juicy and flavorful. It saves money by allowing me to eat cheaper cuts of meat. Unfortunately, the way the grill works is unconventional, so recipes don’t translate well…. literally, drop the food in the basket. Cook to the right temperature. But it makes amazing chickens and roasts.

My side dish tonight was cauliflower and I wanted a novel preparation. I love exotic spices, especially saffron. So without further adieu, Exotic Roast Cauliflower.

1/2 head of cauliflower, broken into florets

1Tbs Moroccan spice. Ras al Hanout would work, but I used this: http://www.savoryspiceshop.com/blends/marr.html

Pinch of Saffron threads

1 tsp salt

2T melted butter

Heat oven to 400. Put saffron in melted butter to sit for 5 minutes. After butter has sat for 5 minutes, pour it over the cauliflower and toss to coat. Toss salt and spice on cauliflower. Roast in a single layer on a pan in the oven for 30 minutes.

Delicious!

