I started the plan weighing it at about 182. After the first day, I weighed something like 185 lbs. I was flipping out. But by week’s end, I was at 179. So… all these carbs made me bloat. My weight really fluctuated a lot throughout the first few weeks.

My first day was a moderate day- so it was the most carbs of the week. I ate things like OJ and bread to get in my carbs. It was actually hard to get in all the carbs, because it was less fat than normal and I was used to avoiding excess carbs. I did the calorie counts on the base plan and found I was eating about 20% more calories than I had been. Seeing weight come off while eating more is strange. I think it was a combo of tiring, but I also found myself never snacking or splurging or picking. The meals were very satisfying.
During the base phase, I lost 10lbs. I was also doing 10×10 training and really backed cardio off to nothing. My lifting days were 10 sets of 10 on my main lifts, deads, squats, bench and press, coupled with accessory work. These were solid hour workouts. The plan fueled me with pre and post workout carbs and protein. I always had the energy to get the workouts done. I also did not lose any strength and gained some.
The foods in this phase were great. Think french toast casserole, egg tacos, chicken/potato salad for lunch and big green salads for dinner. The macros at this point were enough that I had a lot of leeway to make whatever. Notably, I think a vegetarian could make this work because the protein requirements are spread over 6 meals, 2 of which are protein shakes. I had a couple of vegetarian meals.
So a couple of recipes. The first is for carb heavy days and is meant to replenish carbs after a hard work out. The second is for rest days- much lighter on carbs. Both are really tasty and make me feel like I am not on a diet:
French Toast Casserole (modified from Well Plated)
This recipe was great- I could make it once and eat it all week on lifting days. It was hearty and like having a treat. It is also a flexible recipe- to reduce fat, reduce egg yolks! This is not a paleo recipe…. but I have no gluten issues.
10 ounce multigrain bread torn
3/4 cup blueberries
3 eggs
6 egg whites
14 ounces coconut milk (light)
1/3 cup sugar
1 scoop whey protein, vanilla (you can leave it out, but it gets me to my macros)
2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp salt
Place the bread and blueberries into a 9×13 casserole. Mix up the rest in a blender and pour over the bread. Let it sit in the fridge for a couple of hours. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes. Serve with maple syrup.
Breakfast Tacos
I love these, and they are flexible for macros- more cheese=more fat. Less cheese=less fat. They taste great and are easy to make.
2 ounces ground turkey
1 egg
1 egg white
1/2 ounce shredded cheese
2 corn tortillas
Salsa
Heat tortilla in a pan. Cook up the ground turkey with a little salt and pepper. Add the egg and eggwhite and scramble. Put the turkey and egg mix in the tortillas. Top with cheese and salsa.
